Sunday, May 21, 2017

ZIFA Bans Katsande, Malajila, Mushekwi And Rusike From The National Team

Zimbabwe Football Association president, Philip Chiyagwa has ordered the interim Warriors coach, Norman Mapeza not to include Willard Katsande, Cuthbert Malajila, Nyasha Mushekwi and Mathew Rusike for national team assignments.

The Warriors quartet has been identified as the ringleaders for boycotting the national team send-off dinner that had then acting president, Emerson Mnangagwa as guest of honour in January 2017 before the AFCON tournament in Gabon.

"Snubbing the Acting President, a man who had just gave us a million bucks, came with consequences and life was very difficult for me and my board.

"We had to explain ourselves to the nation's leaders and that was not easy," said Zifa boss Phillip Chiyangwa.

Without giving out names, Chiyangwa confirmed that Mapeza has been instructed not to consider some "mercinaries".

"They are players who will never - ever play for the national team during my tenure, infact during my football life. I emphasize, never ever.

“They kissed goodbye to the national team when they snubbed the acting president. They sabotaged us and some of them even tried to beat up my vice president (Omega Sibanda).

“They taught us lessons and the coach has been debriefed accordingly. We have told him to use any other players but not these players who are full of nonsense.”

The suspension of four senior Warriors players comes as a big blow for Mapeza who was preparing for the first AFCON 2019 group qualifyer against Liberia in Harare next month.


Post a Comment